Ten things I learnt in Spain…

IMG_2710   P1070712   P1070848   P1070704

For some light relief, let me share some of the challenges, joys and startling insights that I encountered while in Barcelona and Girona, in Spain for five days last week…

1. If I want to climb Girona‘s medieval city walls, despite a loss of one third of my lung function, I damn well will… just slowly and with lots of rest stops. It was worth it!

IMG_2708P10707952. There’s really nothing quite like xurros amb xocolata (in Spanish: churros con chocolate), sat outside on a terrace in the wintery sunshine – Really! Nothing! Like it!

3. It is possible to be completely stuffed on pinchos/tapas… every day for four days… and still not have tried everything.

duck tapas3a. Who needs sex when I got so damn close to an oral orgasm by eating – in particular, a Basque pintxo of the most succulent duck ever, with a thick sweet blueberry conserve? OMG! (at Zanpanzar, Girona)

4. In Catalunya, if you’re not sure of a woman’s name, there’s a very good chance it’ll be Montserrat. They’re everywhere!

P1080069 P1070846 P1080001 P1070963 P1080081

5. Wandering around with eyes watering due to dry eye and blinded by bright sunshine, then losing a contact lens is not ideal in a visually exciting city.

desigual morning coat6. Shopping is fun… in Barcelona… on steroids… Especially if you like distinctive fashion… and you have a generous birthday gift just gagging to be spent.

7. Steroids are definitely my drug of choice. You know… if and when the time comes… I think I’d prefer them to morphine. Just saying…

7a. Prednisolone has less dramatic effects than Dexamethosone. Nonetheless, I relished eating, smelling, hearing, seeing, tasting, touching – all sensory perception heightened and feeling high, if a little peculiar. I loved it!

“And I am feeling a little peculiar
And so I wake in the morning
And I step outside
And I take a deep breath and I get real high
And I scream at the top of my lungs
What’s going on?”
– 4 Non Blondes, What’s Goin’ On?

8. Gaudí is not the only amazing architect of his time in the region. How about Rafael Masó in Gerona and Lluís Domènech i Montaner in Barcelona? The Palau de la Música Catalana is truly awesome! But I still think Gaudí is my favourite.

P1070614   P1070628   P1070629   IMG_2691

9. In Catalunya, the sense of pride in the culture and region is fierce. I loved hearing Catalan everywhere, including the beautiful voice of a local soprano, Maite Mer, whose version of ‘The Answer is Blowing in the Wind’ [Escolta-ho en el vent] gave me chills and made me want to learn Catalan. Sadly, it isn’t available on YouTube, although I did buy a CD. But here she is singing Que Tinguem Sort [Lucky].

10. Feeling edgy and nervous about my future health, but not paying it no-never-mind for a few days certainly makes for a super-charged response to life. (The steroids undoubtedly play a part.)

IMG_2686  P1070650 P1080097  P1070886 P1080094  P1070592 

 

IMG_2742

About Jet Black

I began blogging because having been diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma, I wanted to share my experiences of living with an incurable cancer. Through blogging, I discovered that I enjoy writing. I have always chosen to live life for the journey, more than the destination. This is as true for the act of writing as it is for living with myeloma, so these are two things I do: I live and I write!
This entry was posted in * Myeloma, Fun, play & adventure, Graft versus Host Disease and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ten things I learnt in Spain…

  1. Lovely photos Jet, it was a pleasure to share all the delicioso tapas with you xx

    Like

  2. Eliza_Mariah says:

    Sounds amazing. I’ve never been to Spain.

    Like

  3. Lorraine says:

    You are a truly amazing lady to see so much beauty in everything that you see whilst having to deal with so many things going on with your body. I have to say that I am happy on morphine and could not cope with steroids: they kept me awake for five days with no sleep! Lorraine

    Like

    • Jet Black says:

      Yeah. Not getting much sleep here either. Although Pred isn’t as bad as Dex. I’ve not yet had morphine so can’t compare but I do enjoy the joy of steroid highs.

      Like

  4. Thanks Jet so glad you had such a great time and shared it with us love ev xxxx

    Like

  5. I’ll be sharing these amazing shots with my son who’s learned European geography.

    Like

Leave a Reply

