Stem cell transplant

I won’t be ready for a stem cell transplant for some months yet. I think they wait until the drugs I’m currently taking have made sufficient impact on the myeloma cells.

I am also not emotionally ready to really face this particular part of the treatment process. I am addressing it intellectually, peeking at it from behind my hands, but for now I’m just not ready.

But, if anyone wants to know more about it, there is a PDF leaflet published by Myeloma UK, which you can download and read from this web page: http://www.myeloma.org.uk/intro-to-myeloma/what-is-myeloma/how-is-it-treated/. Just click on the link to ‘High-dose chemotherapy and stem cell transplantation’.

And I have just found an American website called Patient Power which has a lot of what seems to be very up-to-date information on it, including this very hopeful video: http://www.patientpower.info/program/living-a-full-and-active-life-with-myeloma/player/0#

Lastly, my new T’ai Chi teacher, who has recovered from breast cancer herself, advised me today that cancer hates oxygen… and loves sugar, so here I go breathing again! 🙂

About Jet Black

I began blogging because having been diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma, I wanted to share my experiences of living with an incurable cancer. Through blogging, I discovered that I enjoy writing. I have always chosen to live life for the journey, more than the destination. This is as true for the act of writing as it is for living with myeloma, so these are two things I do: I live and I write!
This entry was posted in * Myeloma and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stem cell transplant

  1. Jet, sweetheart, I can’t get my head round all this. I’ve read what I can but I take take in the details about symptoms and treatments, I guess because it reminds me of having been so terribly ill not so long ago, and I just can’t deal with being reminded. But the one thing I can say is that I recognise your description of the debilitating shock. So maybe we can relate to each other’s experience on that level. Anyway, I would have phoned you today if I could find your phone number. Maybe it’s best if you call me at a time that suits you. I know the way to deal with shock is to keep talking about it, to whoever will listen; and I’m prepared to try and understand the best I can. Much love to you, from Rachel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

