Why I won’t be getting run over by a bus any time soon!

Jet Black:

My good friend, Wendy has written about the possibility of being run over by a bus… a subject that is very pertinent to both of us – more of our “not normal” life.

We have both joked about the possibility…

WDancing in Fountains 6endy and I met initially in Sheffield, in July 2011. While crossing a road in the city centre, I did get pretty close to being run over by a bus – they had a bus lane on the right-hand side of the road, for goodness sake! How was I supposed to know? Pfffft! It still didn’t get me! And I was able to dance in the fountains.

Having seen Wendy’s researched statistics, I am pretty sure that my death will come at the hands of myeloma or its emissaries, not by a bus.

Sadly, there are some people outside of the incurable cancer journey who just don’t get it. Maybe reading this will allow a bit more understanding of what we live with.

Originally posted on Wendy's World:

How many times have I heard that I could get run over by a bus any time or other such platitudes about how none of us know when our number is up when I talk about my life shortening diagnosis.  I know it is partly because people don’t know what to say and yes it is true there is a very remote chance I could get run over by a bus…………..

About 2 in 1000000000 to be precise

I think it is far far more likely that I will die of a Myeloma related cause, in fact I would gamble my life on it!

I love this video, I don’t know why it makes me laugh so much, Jesus is being so positive and upbeat singing I will survive and then what happens…I won’t spoil the ending!

I know of 5 people between the age of 35 and 60 with…

View original 638 more words

About jet black

I began blogging because having been diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma, I wanted to share my experiences of living with an incurable cancer. Through blogging, I discovered that I enjoy writing. I have always chosen to live life for the journey, more than the destination. This is as true for the act of writing as it is for living with myeloma, so these are two things I do: I live and I write!
This entry was posted in Death & dying and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I won’t be getting run over by a bus any time soon!

  1. Bev says:

    I went on to read Wendy’s list “For example, I have

    – cancelled payments into the pathetic personal pension I had

    – ceased caring about how I am going to support myself financially in old age

    – stopped fearing death and that I might be extremely old, out of my mind, lonely and a burden on others

    – stopped shelving plans and dreams of what I am going to do when I retire, and am DOING THEM NOW, as far as possible.

    Oh yes, I am living the dream (said with more than a touch of irony and a little bitterness if I am honest)!”

    When I got halfway well after my fatality due to sickle cell crisis, my greatest fear was living long and alone, because by the time I was well enough to enjoy anything I was nearly 40 years old and had not one friend or relationship, no job and no home…

    Like

  2. Jet Black says:

    Yes Bev, I understand. The anxiety that comes AFTER treatment can be a lot harder to face than going through diagnosis and treatment, even for those with a non-fatal, or curable disease. I hope that you are now well enough to enjoy life and that you now have friends and relationships to support you. x

    Like

  3. Enjoyed Wendy’s blog, she makes an excellent arguament and given that you were almost run over by a bus, does that make it now less or equally likely to happen again? I never could understand statistics!
    As for me, the odds are I’m going to die of a shortage of breath. My Dad assures me that’s how everyone dies but just like the bus thing, in my case I think he’s missing the point. ;)

    Like

    • Jet Black says:

      I have no idea about stats either Meg, but I’m pretty sure we’re both in similar boats when it comes to the likelihood of what will get us in the end. It’s kinda reassuring somehow, I find.

      Like

Leave a Reply

